Transparent Draft Feature Now Live

Presenting a new auto-save system that’ll help prevent data loss.

This new feature, called “Transparent Draft,” will save members the frustration of losing their work if they accidentally close their browser window prior to saving a draft of the article. Instead, the article will be automatically restored the next time they log in.

To better understand this feature, imagine you’re writing an article …

  • Partway through entering your article into the submit form you decide you want to see what you’ve written thus far, so you hit the Preview button.
     
  • The Preview shows your partially completed article in a pop-up window.
     
  • Then, you accidentally close the browser window instead of clicking the Close Preview button.
     
  • Fortunately, your article progress isn’t lost. You simply go back to http://members.ezinearticles.com/ and click Submit A New Article under the Article Manager dropdown.
     
  • An Unsaved Draft Restored message (like the one below) appears at the top of the submit form showing that the data wasn’t lost:
     


 

  • From this point, you can continue working on the restored draft on that page. Otherwise, you can click “save” in the alert to save a new draft or reset the form to a completely new article by clicking “delete this auto-save.”

Keep in mind that this is independent of the “Draft” system. Think of it as similar to Microsoft Word’s document recovery, where a crash of the software allows you to restore your work.

Note: The auto-save will only recall the most recent article you were working on.

Any questions? Leave a comment for us.

6 Comments »


1
Larry Icabandi Nabiong writes:

Wow. Thank you for this development. Many times I experienced losing my draft article and felt mad about myself… and such blunders of mine, I think, were caused by my eleventh finger. I remember I had to re-type those ideas as fast as I could hold its tail from losing to oblivion.
Great work …great people.

Comment provided October 13, 2010 at 5:58 PM

[Reply]

2
Crisologo writes:

This is a big help for us writers who sometimes unknowingly happened to close browsers and forget saving them. Thank you for this new development.

Comment provided October 13, 2010 at 6:35 PM

[Reply]

3
Patricia Hines writes:

Fantastic! I have done that and was so angry at myself for hitting the wrong button. Thank You!

Comment provided October 13, 2010 at 11:06 PM

[Reply]

jon bone writes:

I’ve lost so much of my work when my battery dies or a crash happens, this is a fantastic way of preventing this especialy when your very busy and forget. Thanks guys !!

Jon Bone

[Reply]

4

I never write in the article submission because I feared l was doing a work in progress. Now I don’t have to fear that.

Comment provided October 15, 2010 at 7:33 AM

[Reply]

5

Great idea!This will be so useful when writing drafts of articles.

Comment provided June 10, 2011 at 4:33 PM

[Reply]

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment

Please read our comment policy before commenting.